April 17, 2017

Be a Writer and be Happy

Posted in Ponderer's Box at 4:41 pm by వసుంధర

If you have thoughts to share, do not use the phone as media. Write down on a paper and first share with yourself. Then you may share them with your friends. Yes, you have become a writer. It is not just for recognition one should write. Please remember – real writers are always a happy lot. 

Here’s one real writer who is sharing his thoughts on this subject.

link

I have evolved spiritually since I became a writer: Amish Tripathi

Apr 16 2017 : The Times of India (Hyderabad)

amish tripathi

Before I started writing, I was a banker for 14 years – your typical IIM-A kinda of a guy, unhappy with everything. I was hyper-aggressive and hyper-competitive. Even if I got a bonus, I’d want more. If I didn’t have a cabin, I would crib. When I got one, I wanted a bigger one. If I got a promotion, I would crib it’s come too late. I was trapped in that vicious rat race cycle.
The process of being a writer changed me as a person. It changed my thoughts; the subjects of my books changed me as a person, spiritually.

Shaky start, gritty mind

My journey as a writer wasn’t smooth from the beginning. I was rejected by 20 publishers. Since I was never attached to the concept of failure, I kept at it. I had a well-paying full time job till I wrote my first two books. Only when the money from the royalty became bigger than my salary did I quit to become a full-time writer. You have to look at the practical side of living and pay your bills. I believe in being realistic. I also believe we have to live in the world we have, not the ‘ideal one’ in which we think should exist.
 Hence, I’m still competitive but what has changed – I’m no longer controlled by the external symbols of success and failure. Neither am I driven by external manifestations of power. That attitude has given me a lot of freedom. When you are not attached to things, nothing can stop you. Lord Krishna’s words of wisdom always echo in my mind – do not be attached to the fruits of your labour. That’s the most empowering statement of life. If you remain detached to the results, failure doesn’t fill you with demotivation and success doesn’t fill you with ego or pride. You become unstoppable!
 A disciplined approach
 I start my day at 5 am in the morning. I exercise and go through the ritual of reading four newspapers. I begin writing by 9 am. I’ve observed that I’m more diciplined on my writing days than normal ones. Somedays, I write for hours, on others, I face a writer’s block. The idea is not to get frustrated. I read five to six books simultaneously.

Leave a comment